The CervicalCheck Tribunal is now fully operational and offers a distinct alternative to High Court litigation in the resolution of disputes arising in respect of the State’s cervical screening programme.

Where the parties agree, claims may be commenced, directly, before the Tribunal or transferred from the list of cases currently pending before the High Court.

The Tribunal is comprised of a Chairperson, Ms Justice Ann Power, a Judge of the Court of Appeal, and two ordinary Members, Mr Justice Tony O’Connor, a Judge of the High Court and Mr Justice Brian McGovern, a retired Judge of the Court of Appeal. All have significant experience in the field of clinical negligence litigation.

Hearings before the Tribunal will be conducted in a welcoming, modern and purpose-built facility that has been designed with specific sensitivity to the needs of claimants. Its premises provide a calm, serviced and comfortable personal space for each claimant’s use during the course of proceedings.

Central to the Tribunal’s objectives is the speedy processing, efficient hearing and swift determination of eligible claims—in a fair, impartial, private and ‘case sensitive’ manner. Its Rules are designed, specifically, to achieve this end without undermining the integrity of the court process or compromising important legal protections and safeguards.

Completed claim forms may be lodged in person or electronically and hearings may be conducted remotely, if necessary.

Under the leadership of an experienced Court of Appeal Registrar, each member of the Tribunal’s staff is dedicated to delivering a high level of quality service to all stakeholders. Enquiries are welcome and may be made by telephoning 01 – 674 3300 or by emailing Further information in relation to details of eligibility and the procedures for lodging or transferring claims are to be found on the Tribunal’s website

Pádraig Mac Criostail
13th of February 2021